a good place to put inspirational quotes, is up your ass

As of late, my “friends” in the social media realm have gotten uncharacteristically and 100% unnecessarily “inspirational.” Is it because it’s January, month of “rebirth” and “renewal”? #newyearnewyou

Today was a particularly bad day for me. I’m emotional, and grumpy, and my hair is flat. The last thing I want to see when I log on to Instagram, is a bubblegum-faced pop star telling me to “Aim for the Moon, Even If You Miss You’ll Land Among Stars”… *eyeroll*

Don’t get me wrong, I am not a complete and total bitch ALL of the time. And I am not completely innocent of doing this exact same thing! BUT I also do not believe that I am the one and only person who feels this way. Why is it that we fall in to this trap (for lack of a better word)? Once the new year sets in, we are all suddenly speaking solely through the inspirational words of Theodore Roosevelt and Ghandi. I am seeing more and more people plaster these famous words of wisdom over a moody sunset, and suddenly it’s “artistic” #breakupquote #youcandobetter.

How do you think Benjamin Franklin, inventor of the fucking LIGHTBULB, would feel about you using his words for your #fitspo? I think he’d tell you to put on your big girl panties, and have an original thought. (And to stop equating his great words, to your losing 5 lbs; Ben was a sass KWEEN in my version of history, btw). T’s nonsense until hen  3 months down the road, we are back to our original selves posting pictures of food until the summer sun rolls around.

Moral of the story, I had a bad day and I think we should all fast forward to instagramming food again. THX.

 

All images were found on Pinterest. Image does NOT belong to writer.  Pinterest search: stupid inspirational quotes

Leave a Reply

