how i’ll love you

I won’t love you in an obvious way. I’m not going to tell you every day how lucky I am to have you in my life. I’m not going to post instagram photos accompanied with #blessed or #truelove (at least not in a serious way.) I won’t send you a “good morning” text and you might not be the last person I text before I fall asleep (it’ll probably be my best friend, tbh.) Sure, I’ll dream of you. But not of wedding bells and 2.5 kids. I’ll dream of seeing the Taj Mahal and surfing in Bali with you. Or of fighting crime and saving the president.

But how I’ll love you… That my darling, will be a grand adventure! I’ll hold your gaze that one extra second. And I’ll know each curve of your body. I might not know your favorite foods, but I’ll know the look on your face when you’re truly enjoying yourself. And I’ll memorize the shape you take when you’re feeling defeated. And I’ll take that memory and know exactly how much longer you’ll need my embrace.

Unlike traditional love, mine will be of epic proportions in the most subtle way possible. There won’t be a need for grand romantic gestures (even though the occasional surprise bouquet will be accepted). I won’t quiz you on my favorite foods (mostly because they change every day, and it isn’t fair to set you up for failure). I won’t beg you to let me meet your parents/siblings/best friends. Because love, if you expect me to play that game with you, you’re sorely mistaken.

Never in my life have I dreamt of the perfect engagement, or wedding, or marriage. I’ve dreamt of finding a person who loved adventure, and art, and wonder as much as I do. To find someone who still appreciates me when I’m emotional. Someone who can laugh at me when I’m being too serious (+ need to chill the fuck out), and feed me when I’m hangry.

I will give you my whole heart and soul. I will hold your hand in a thunderstorm. I will call you out on bullshit. I will probably shrink your favorite shirt in the laundry. I will be real with you. I will be raw. And quite honestly, I will probably run a time or two.

But this is how I’ll love you. Love you.

All images were found on Pinterest. Image does NOT belong to writer.  Pinterest search: cute love photography
Leave a Reply

