slut for trip advisor: party of infinity

tripadvisor

We all want it. That TripAdvisor shout out from a guest of your hotel/restaurant/etc. “You scream,  I scream, we all scream for approval and praise”… Or something like that.

I remember when I received my first ‘name mention’. I geeked out about it for about a week, completely ignoring the fact that the lady spelled my name wrong. But I remember the feeling I felt that morning when my dragon of a boss told me someone had mentioned how “sweet and helpful Jordyn at the front desk” was. Little did that guest know, just before she approached the desk to check in, I was screamed at in Chinese for losing a reservation that wasn’t even BOOKED AT OUR HOTEL. That name mention really turned my day around. From that day, I became addicted.

Receiving a name mention does something to you. It low-key turns you in to a monster-y version of yourself. I’ve seen people, my co-workers and friends, turn positively nutty for the opportunity of a name mention. (No really, my old roommate who shall remain anonymous, gave up his fucking bed to a guest who needed a rollaway once.) Working in hotels (especially front of house; FOH) you become two versions of yourself: your original, asshole self. And the model citizen willing to go above and beyond for a guest/owner, no matter the cost. Heads Up: a reviewer will write about both of these people on Trip Advisor.

We in the service industry have taken “excellent service” to extremes. We will get you your extra towels, decaf coffee, AND turn a blind eye when your husband comes to the desk drunk and without pants demanding a taxi (Donald Ducking it the whole time, old man balls in all of their faded glory. barf.) Some days, we deserve a goddamn gold medal for the back breaking shit we do.

Hence, the TripAdvisor review. I’ve worked in a few hotels now and each one is the same when it comes to mentions. Each employee competing for that coveted title of “Most Name Mentions in Whatever Fucking Month It Happens To Be”. (The title comes with bragging rights, a free pass at forgetting to count your bank/being 5 minutes late/etc., and sometimes a gift card! Oh Boy.) A check in goes from, “Please enjoy your stay.” to “My name is AMY. Please let me know if there is ANYTHING else you need during your stay, Mr./Mrs. Whatever. Have a WONDERFUL stay.”

Sure it’s great for business but, how fucking annoying are we? And it’s all for a damn virtual pat on the back. TripAdvisor has made us liars. I can promise you that 85% of the time when I have asked a guest to “let me know if there is anything else I can do.” I have been lying, and will probably send someone else to go do it (ah, the joys of management.) Okay that’s probably 99% at this point.

What I’m getting at, three things:

  1. Approval is a bitch. But we all want her. Every day, and in every way.
  2. If you’re server/hotel employee/etc is extremely sweet, it’s probably because they are down by one mention to someone they truly can’t stand. It’s a facade, but we will get your extra creamer with a goddam smile, every time.
  3. Take the time to write reviews. You never know how much of a day you may make for someone. Because of your review, a front desk agent could decide to not quit her job.

All images were found on Pinterest. Image does NOT belong to writer.  Pinterest search: fucking trip advisor

Leave a Reply

