happy un-birthday, birthday

Yo penguin,

I remember this one time you asked me which animal I would be if I could be any animal. I said otter because they are so cute and happy all of the time. You told me that I remind you more of a seal pup. When I asked you the same question your response made me literally laugh out loud: a penguin. When I asked why, you looked at me like I was an idiot and said simply, because they are always fitted in a tuxedo. 

Today is your birthday. I officially met you five years ago today. We’ve been playing this game for that long? Jesus fucking Christ.

I was skipping class, you were drinking on the lawn before noon (in your defense, it was your birthday). God, I hated you. You were so arrogant and obnoxious. I blew you off, hard that morning. I complained to L about you for a good hour. And yet, I was still so drawn to you. She warned me over and over (and over) again that you were bad news. But I didn’t listen. Have I ever listened, though?

A part of me hates that I’ll never forget your birthday. And that I’ll never forget the day we met. Some would say that’s sentimental and sweet; I say it makes me want to barf a little. (and sometimes cry. or scream. definitely makes me want to text you.)

After all these years and all this time, I will always remember. It was an uncharacteristically warm day in Ellensburg, Wash. I was skipping a psychology class with Dr. Fallshore. You were wearing basketball shorts and simply, celebrating another turn around the sun. Who would have thought five years later, we’d still be… doing what we did best.

#HBD to the boy who makes me craziest. And my smile so huge. (Most of the time) To the person who despite so many shitty times, our good times are some of my favorite memories. Happy birthday, bud. To someone who knows me inside and out; the Big to my Carrie.

 

I hope you’re well and enjoying this day as much as humanly possible.

xo—sealpup

 

All images were found on Pinterest. Image does NOT belong to writer.  Pinterest search: penguin, seal pup, indie photo

Leave a Reply

